Welcome to the Blog of Rod Roels Design

Hi there.

It’s about time I came to the blog party and it seemed like the beginning of the new year was a good time to do it. I grew a little tired of standing off to the side and simply observing.

I am a graphic designer in Southern California and have been in the industry for over 20 years. I started as a grunt working pre-press in a small print shop and have never stopped getting a thrill of seeing something go from my brain to a printed piece coming off the press. I have had the good fortune to practice my craft in large, worldwide ad agencies; small design firms and in-house art departments. Now, I mostly work on my own with my own clients though I still will take on-site assignments.

As one of many voices on the internet I will be giving my perspective about graphic design, marketing and things of that nature. What I also want to do is use this as a place for the non-designer to learn about what design is, how it works (sometimes) and what they need to know when working with designers and hiring them for work. I think this knowledge will be helpful and eliminate some of the headaches on both sides of the client/designer relationship.

So enjoy your time here and feel free to let me know how I’m doing or ask me any questions you may have.

Rod Roels

Leave a Reply

